THY CATAFALQUE: Rock Overdose premieres their brand-new song “Sirály”!

 THY CATAFALQUE are about to set out on a new musical journey. Mastermind Tamás Kátai has – yet again – delivered a complex puzzle that might have been time-consuming, but the reward is a seemingly never-ending stream of rare moments encapsulating deep emotions, profound visions, and lost memories to all patient listeners.


It is on this day that fans will have the exclusive opportunity to listen to the song "Sirály" for the very first time on 17:00 (EET). The full-length album, though, entitled “Meta”, will be released on September 16th 2016.



With “Meta”, the Hungarian composer, lyricist, and multi-instrumentalist has taken a slightly more direct approach than on his previous sixth album “Sgúrr” (2015). Harsh metal outbreaks organically entwine with ethereal passages of stunning beauty, while folkloric melodies contrast with progressive interludes. Nothing is ever predictable, yet after several spins and putting the pieces mentally together a coherent picture emerges.


THY CATAFALQUE originally emerged as a black metal band founded by singer Tamás Kátai with the aid of guitarist János Juhász. Following their joined debut “Sublunary Tragedies” (1999), the Hungarians evolved into quite different directions, but steadily gaining more followers through “Microcosmos” (2001) and the self-released “Tűnő idő tárlat” (2004).


On their fourth album “Róka hasa radio” (2009), THY CATAFALQUE invited Ágnes Tóth from the neo-folk outfit THE MOON AND THE NIGHTSPIRIT. It was with his fifth full-length “Rengeteg” (2011), though, that Tamás Kátai went solo with the aid of hired guest musicians, also including Ágnes Tóth. Long-time fans will be glad to witness the return of Attila Bakos, who sang “Róka hasa radio” as well as “Rengeteg”, on the track "Uránia".



Tamás Kátai: vocals, guitar, bass, keyboards, programming, lyrics


Guest musicians

Attila Bakos: clean vocals on "Uránia"

Judit Csere: cello on "Sirály"

Ágnes Tóth: soprano on "Sirály"

Balázs Tóth: lead guitar on "Ixión Düün"

Orsolya Fogarasi: female vocals on "Malmok járnak"

Zoltán Kónya: vocals on "Malmok járnak"

Luci Holland: oboe on "Malmok járnak"

Gyula Vasvári : clean vocals on "Vonatút az éjszakában" and "Mezolit"

Lambert Lédeczy: vocals on "Mezolit"



  1. Uránia
  2. Sirály
  3. 10^(-20) Ångström
  4. Ixión Düün
  5. Osszel otthon
  6. Malmok járnak
  7. Vonatút az éjszakában
  8. Mezolit
  9. Fehérvasárnap


Related Links: